Tuesday, January 27, 2009

2009 Award Winners

Newbery Medal
"The Graveyard Book" by Neil Gaiman

Caldecott Medal
"The House in the Night," illustrated by Beth Krommes and written by Susan Marie Swanson

2010 May Hill Arbuthnot Honor Lecturer
Kathleen T. Horning, director of the University of Wisconsin-Madison's Cooperative Children's Book Center

(The Arbuthnot award honors an author, critic, librarian, historian, or teacher of children's literature, of any country, who then presents a lecture at a winning host site.)

Geisel Award
"Are You Ready to Play Outside?" written and illustrated by Mo Willems

(The Theodor Seuss Geisel Medal honors the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished contribution to the body of American children’s literature known as beginning reader books published in the United States during the preceding year.)

Odyssey Award
"The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian," written and narrated by Sherman Alexie

(The Odyssey Award will be awarded annually to the best audiobook produced for children and/or young adults, available in English in the United States.)

Sibert Medal
"We Are the Ship: The Story of Negro League Baseball" written and illustrated by Kadir Nelson

(The Sibert Medal honors the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished informational book published during the preceding year.)

Wilder Medal
Ashley Bryan

(The Wilder Medal honors an author or illustrator whose books, published in the United States, have made, over a period of years, a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children.)


No comments: